Information re: Memorial Services

December 26, 2006 at 8:38 pm (Uncategorized)

cynthia-1.jpgCynthia Dailard (born Cynthia Boles) passed away on Dec. 24, 2006.  There have been many people asking for more information and wanting to share their thoughts with friends and family. This blog was created to give everyone a chance to participate and show their love and support for Cynthia’s family.

OBITUARY–The obituary in the Washington Post may be found at:  http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2006/12/25/AR2006122500554.html

Also, there is a tribute to Cynthia by the Guttmacher Institute, which can be found at http://www.guttmacher.org/

MEMORIAL SERVICES–

Please join Scott, Miranda and Julia in remembering and celebrating Cynthia Dailard’s life at a memorial service on Saturday, January 6th, 2007 at 3:00 p.m. The service will be held at George Washington University in the Dorothy Betts Marvin Theatre on the first floor of the Marvin Center, 800 21st Street NW. Seating will begin at 2:30.  A reception will be held immediately after the ceremony in the second floor ballroom. Directions and parking information can be found at http://cafritz.gwu.edu.

CEMETERY INFORMATION

The family is not planning to receive mourners at the cemetery during the memorial service weekend. However, anyone who wants to visit her final resting place can do so during the cemetery’s public visiting hours on Sunday (1:30 to 4 p.m.)  She will be interred in Camellia Pathway niche 39D at the Oak Hill cemetery in Georgetown.   Link to Oak Hill cemetery – http://www.oakhillcemeterydc.org/index.html

DONATIONS IN HONOR OF CYNTHIA– In lieu of flowers the family requests that donations be made to a memorial fund in Cynthia’s memory. We have established a fund in her name at the Chevy Chase Bethesda Community Children’s Center where both Miranda and Julia attend preschool.  The Cynthia Dailard Fund for the Enrichment of CCBC Children will be used for scholarships and enrichment programs for the school.  Checks should be made out to CCBC Children’s Center, please note on a memo that is for the Cynthia Dailard Fund and can be sent c/o Lisa McAuliffe, Director, 5671 Western Avenue NW, Washington DC 20015.

PLEASE ADD YOUR COMMENTS BELOW.  TO POST A PICTURE, PLEASE E-MAIL TO DZOHAR@ZOHARLAWFIRM.COM.

11 Comments

  1. dzohar said,

    I’ve been friends with Cynthia since the 7th grade. She is truly one of the warmest and most caring people I have ever met. For all of us who were blessed to have known her, we have a responsibility to keep her memories and spirit alive for her beautiful daughters, Miranda and Julia, so that they, too, may fully understand what a remarkable woman she was. Please share your stories below.

    Thank you,
    Dan Zohar

  2. The Tainiter family said,

    We have fond memories of Cynthia as a child, teenager and adult. We lived around the corner from her family and remember her as being very bright and friendly with a beautiful smile. We somehow knew that she would accomplish much in her life. Although her time with us was much too short, she did a lot in the time she had. Her presence with live on with her husband and children. We hope her family will find comfort in the fact that she touched so many in a very positive way. With all our love, Janice, Mel and family

  3. Sara Seims said,

    I had the privilege of working with Cynthia at the Guttmacher Institute. There was never a meeting, brainstorming or plain ordinary conversation that was not enriched by her insight and humor. I particularly remember two contributions by Cynthia that had an impact on me. The first was an in-house training that she led for non-lawyers on the staff that provided a venue for us to ask every single question that had been on our minds about all the legal complexities concerning our field. Cynthia, I learned, was not only extremely knowledgeable on all these matters but could communicate even the nuances to the rest of us. The second was the leadership that Cynthia took in developing a parental leave policy for Guttmacher. Her ground work was so thorough and practical that the Institute was able to adopt this new policy in record time. She was a lovely woman and our world is poorer with her loss.

  4. Anne Boles Levy said,

    Thank you for doing this. Cynthia was my first cousin, and we’d been promising each other that one of these years we’d get our little ones together. I lived on the West Coast until recently and it was an endless source of frustration not being close enough to make those kinds of visits to family. When we moved to Chicago last summer, I vowed we’d get back East more often, and Cynthia was high on my list of people with whom I’d like to reconnect. Ironically, we were en route to the East Coast for the holidays when I heard the news. I was devastated to realize I wouldn’t be able to remain for the memorial service. Scott, Miranda, Julia, Sandra and Aunt Ellen are in my constant thoughts now, and I’m looking forward to reading the many tributes to Cynthia that I’m sure will pour in.

    I will always remember her as a moptop kid sitting at the bottom of my parents’ stairs singing, “It’s a Hard Knock Life” from Annie and grinning. She was funny and smart and I’m amazed Googling her name to read all the courageous, brilliant and eminently sensible things she had to say.

  5. James Wagoner said,

    All of us who work in the field of reproductive and sexual health respected and admired Cynthia. She was a sharp thinker, great writer, and a really good strategist. Her personal warmth was palpable as was her passion for the issues that we all strive to advance. We were all shocked and deeply saddened by her loss. She will live on in the spirit and heart that we bring to our work each and every day. She will not be forgotten. I send my thoughts and prayers to her closest family and friends.

    James Wagoner

  6. P&M Pitman said,

    Cynthia was a truly dedicated humanitarian. A senseless tragedy snuffed out her light too soon. We remember our chaverah family get-togethers especially Succot and hanging all our fruit. We remember that shining face as a child and onward to adulthood. When Cynthia was in her knitting phase, remember her amazing House of Cards sweater. Sadly we could not be there today, but we mourn her loss. We will miss her.

    With love, The Pitmans

  7. Nancy Boles Weiss said,

    I am Cynthia’s oldest first cousin on the Boles side. I remember when she was born–she was already special, with her “Leap Year” February 29th birthday!! She was a sweet, adorable curly-haired child and I enjoyed watching her grow up over the years. Perhaps my most vivid memory of Cynthia was the occasion when my husband Fred and I visited her at home around the beginning of her Senior year in high school. She was already excitedly working on her application to Harvard, and handed me an amazing album to look at which she was going to enclose with her application. It contained pages and pages of photographs, mostly of Cynthia, wearing the most beautiful hand-knitted outfits, all of which were designed and knitted by Cynthia! She then showed me a vest she was currently working on–a replica of the Jack of Hearts playing card, which she would also be including in her album. Obviously the Harvard Admissions Committee was quite impressed as well,
    as Cynthia became the first Boles family Harvard student and graduate. We were all so proud of her then, and throughout the coming years as well.
    Our family has suffered a great loss, as have Cynthia’s friends, colleagues, and anyone who had the good fortune to know and love her. She will be sorely missed by us all.

  8. Charlotte Hildebrand said,

    I was a new friend of Cynthia’s. I met her last February in Los Angeles at the Guttmacher Institute’s presentation of the state ranking project. We sat next to each other and found out we were both writers. In the subsequent months, we corresponded and Cynthia would attach one of her articles if it related to what we were talking about (which it usually did). She admired Katherine Boo of the New Yorker, calling her an incredible writer, but I think Cynthia’s writing was just as incredible–Cynthia wrote “Reviving Interest in Policies and Programs to Help Teens Prevent Repeat Births,” which covered similar material to Boo’s “Swamp Nurse.” I was excited that I was going to meet with her in early December when I was in DC. At lunch she said she was pleased to have a “pen pal” on the West Coast, a place she thought of with fondness because her in-laws and grandmother lived there. She said she had thought about what it would be like to move, but she loved her job and what she did so much that it probaby would never happen. I am very saddened by this huge loss and send my deepest sympathies to her husband and daughters and the rest of her family.

  9. Bari Pacht-Siegel said,

    I feel so lucky that I was able to see Cynthia at the Syosset High School 20th Reunion this summer. I remember specifically talking to her and Lori about their friendship in high school. Now that we are older I really appreciate how special their friendship was, certainly a rare thing.
    I have learned a lot about Cynthia since reading the memorials and have been extremely impressed by all that she has accomplished and the line of work that she had chosen. However, I was not at all surprised. Even in high school Cynthia had a quiet confidence and maturity that very few 17 year olds (or 38 year olds) ever have.
    Cynthia’s family and friends will be in my thoughts. Miranda and Julia will learn from all who loved Cynthia and her strength and brilliance (inside and out) will live on through them.

  10. Ira Peskowitz said,

    During my Jr. High and Sr. High
    Your presence made me high
    During my awaken hour and sadden dreams
    Your lack of presence made me cry
    During my imature Sr. year when I was cold
    You always offered a hand for me to hold
    During an occasion when I fell
    You always blinded the path to hell
    During my calls to you all hours of the night
    You always gave me sanctuary to fight
    During my drifting
    You always brought me back to shore
    During my path of life
    You have always made me sure

    During our life’s we have separated on different tracks
    But when those tracks come to an end we will always be friends

    I truly miss you and I always wanted to share my success of life with you as I’m sure I would have made you proud

    Ira Peskowitz
    12/14/08

  11. sales testing said,

    Have you ever considered publishing an e-book or guest authoring on other
    blogs? I have a blog based on the same topics you discuss and would
    love to have you share some stories/information. I know my audience would appreciate your work.
    If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e mail.

Leave a Reply

